Periodontic

What is periodontitis?


Periodontitis is a bacterial infection of the gums that results in a deterioration of the bone and the gum. Unfortunately, it is often silent and painless.


Where does periodontitis come from?


It is caused by the accumulation of food, plaque and calculus between the teeth and the gums.  These elements contribute to the bacterial growth of the region resulting in inflammation.  The inflammation destroys the bacteria, but also the surrounding tissues, leaving a gap between the gum and the tooth called “periodontal pocket ‘’.  In the periodontal pocket, bacteria multiplies, inflammation destroys… and it’s a vicious circle of destruction. 


The most important factors in the progression of periodontitis are: bacteriological, heredity, smoking, stress, diabetes and other general diseases.


What are the signs of periodontitis?


The usual symptoms are bleeding gums, persistent bad breath, irritations to hot and cold foods, red and swollen gums and possible loss of gums.  In the more advanced phases, we note the mobility of the teeth.


How to treat periodontitis?


First, a detailed examination of the gums is necessary to target problem areas.

Then, remove any debris and diseased tissue to allow the gum to heal. Manual and ultrasonic instruments can be used. In more advanced cases, an antibiotic may be needed to treat periodontitis. 

To help improve the healing process, the treatments are more effective if applied at the first appearance of clinical signs.

 

Are the treatments painful ?


The vast majority of patients are treated under local anesthesia. Normally patients feel a certain sensitivity, but nothing unbearable.

 

Does Periodontitis Disappear Completely After Treatments?

Periodontitis is a chronic infection. We are talking about control and stability rather than total healing. This is the importance of regular follow-ups. In the case of smoking, it is possible to observe a higher risk of refractory periodontitis.

 

What are the complications if I do not treat my periodontitis? 

If the infection increases, there is an impact on the rest of the body. In fact, research shows an increasing correlation between periodontitis and the following diseases: cardio-respiratory diseases, premature delivery, osteoporosis, arteriosclerosis and complications of diabetes cases.


I am a smoker, what are the effects of smoking on my gums?

The evidence is irrefutable that smoking is the main extrinsic factor in gum disease. Not only does it decrease the amount of saliva, stain teeth and overload the tongue, it also makes the gums more susceptible to periodontal disease. The severity of periodontitis is directly proportional to the amount of cigarettes smoked daily.

Does the insurance reimburse fees related to periodontitis treatments?

Gum treatment is part of basic care. So your insurance plan should normally cover it. However, insurance limits the frequency with which you can benefit from scaling. A check beforehand during your first visit will clarify the situation.

Instructions following a surfacing

Oral hygiene

 

The dental hygiene care that you do at home is directly related to the type of healing that you will have after the surfacing. On the day of treatment, brush gently along the gum. Start flossing and using the proxabrush only the day after surfacing. The sensitivity, during brushing and hygiene between the teeth, can remain a few days. In summary, the removal of dental plaque must be done so that the sensitivity disappears and, at the same time, it will maximize healing.

 

Smoking

 

The smoke and heat produced by tobacco can irritate the gums and delay healing. It is strongly suggested that you do not smoke on the following days of surfacing to promote healing.

 

Possible side effects of a surfacing

  •  Bleading: 

 

It is normal to have a slight bleeding as well as irritated gums during the first two days. In the case of heavy bleeding, please apply a moistened tea bag directly on the site, with a slight pressure, for about fifteen minutes.

 

  • Sensitive teeth

 

As a result of surfacing, it may be possible to feel sensitivity. It can occur when in contact with cold or hot air, salty, sweet, spicy and acidic food, as well as during brushing, flossing or using the proxabrush. Most of the time, this sensitivity may remain for a few weeks before gradually decreasing. Remember, removing the plaque daily helps reduce sensitivity, especially if you use sensitive toothpaste.

 

  • Sensitive gums

 

The discomfort following a surfacing varies from one patient to another. Normally ibuprofen or acetaminophen (Advil, Motrin, Tylenol) taken as prescribed helps reduce this discomfort.

 

Please contact us if you have pain, swelling that persists or increases and bleeding, or if you notice any of the following symptoms: stiffness in the jaw, presence of suppuration or bad taste.

Parodontie

Qu’est-ce que la parodontite ?

La parodontite est une infection bactérienne des gencives qui s’observe par une dégradation de l’os et de la gencive même. Elle est malheureusement souvent silencieuse et indolore. 

D’où vient la parodontite ?

Elle est causée par l’accumulation de nourriture, de plaque et de tartre entre les dents et la gencive. Ces éléments contribuent à la croissance bactérienne de la région entraînant une réponse du corps: l’inflammation. L’inflammation détruit ensuite les bactéries, mais aussi les tissus environnants, laissant un vide entre la gencive et la dent appelé “poche parodontale”. Au niveau de la poche parodontale, les bactéries se multiplient, l’inflammation détruit... et c’est un cercle vicieux de destruction.

Les facteurs les plus importants à la progression de la parodontite sont : bactériologiques, l’hérédité, le tabagisme, le stress, le diabète et autres maladies générales.

Quels sont les signes de la parodontite ?

Les symptômes habituels sont le saignement de la gencive, la mauvaise haleine persistante, des irritations aux aliments chauds et froids, des gencives rouges et enflées et une possibilité de perte de gencive (déchaussement des dents). Dans les phases plus avancées, on note la mobilité des dents.

Comment traiter la parodontite ?

Tout d’abord, un examen détaillé de la gencive est nécessaire pour cibler les endroits problématiques.

Ensuite, il faut éliminer tout débris et tissus malades pour permettre à la gencive de guérir. On peut avoir recours à des instruments manuels et ultrasoniques. Dans les cas plus avancés, un antibiotique peut être nécessaire pour traiter la parodontite.

Les chances de guérison sont meilleures quand les traitements sont faits dès le début de l’apparition des signes cliniques.

Est-ce que les traitements sont douloureux ?

La grande majorité des patients se font traiter sous anesthésie locale. Normalement les patients ressentent une certaine sensibilité, mais rien d’insupportable.

 

la parodontite disparaît-elle complètement après les traitements ?

La parodontite est une infection chronique. On parle plutôt de contrôle et de stabilité que d’une guérison totale. Voilà l’importance des suivis réguliers. Dans le cas de tabagisme, il est possible d’observer un risque plus élevé de parodontite réfractaire.

Quelles sont les complications si je ne fais pas traiter ma parodontite? 

Si l’infection s’accroît, il y a une répercussion sur le reste du corps. En effet, les recherches démontrent de plus en plus de corrélation entre la parodontite et les maladies suivantes: maladie cardio-respiratoires, accouchement prématuré, ostéoporose, artériosclérose et complication des cas de diabète.

Quelles sont les répercussions du tabagisme sur ma gencive ?

Les preuves sont irréfutables sur le fait que le tabagisme est le principal facteur extrinsèque des maladies des gencives. Non seulement il diminue la quantité de salive, tache les dents et surcharge la langue, mais il rend les gencives plus susceptibles à la maladie parodontale. La sévérité de la parodontite est directement proportionnelle à la quantité de cigarettes fumées quotidiennement.

Directives suite à un surfaçage

 

Hygiène buccale

Les soins d'hygiène dentaire que vous vous prodiguez à la maison sont directement liés avec le type de guérison que vous aurez suite au surfaçage. Le jour du traitement, brossez doucement le long de la ligne de gencive. Commencez la soie dentaire et les proxabrush seulement le lendemain du surfaçage. La sensibilité, lors du brossage et de l’hygiène entre les dents, peut rester quelques jours. En résumé, l'enlèvement de la plaque dentaire doit être fait pour que la sensibilité disparaisse et, du même coup, cela maximisera la guérison.

 

Fumer

La fumée et la chaleur produite par le tabac, peuvent irriter la gencive et retarder la guérison. Il est fortement suggéré de ne pas fumer les jours suivants le surfaçage afin de favoriser la guérison.

 

Effets secondaires possibles d’un surfaçage

 

  • Saignement: 

Il est normal d'avoir un léger saignement ainsi que les gencives irritées lors des deux premiers jours. Dans le cas d'un saignement abondant, veuillez appliquer une poche de thé humidifié directement sur le site, avec une légère pression, pour une quinzaine de minutes.

 

  • Dents sensibles:

À la suite du surfaçage, il peut être possible de ressentir des sensibilités. Elles peuvent se produire au contact de l'air froid ou chaud, la nourriture salée, sucrée, épicée et acide, ainsi que lors du brossage, de la soie dentaire ou des proxabrush. Chez la majorité des individus, cette sensibilité peut rester quelques semaines avant de graduellement diminuer. N'oubliez pas qu'enlever la plaque quotidiennement aide à réduire la sensibilité, spécialement si vous employez un dentifrice pour dent sensible..

 

  • Gencive sensible: 

L'inconfort à la suite d'un surfaçage varie d'un patient à l'autre. Normalement l'ibuprofène ou l'acétaminophène (Advil, Motrin, Tylenol) pris tel que prescrit aide à réduire cet inconfort.